Don Juan

Kyrgyz National Academic Opera and Ballet Theater, Bishkek

Don Juan, fictitious character who is a symbol of libertinism. Originating in popular legend, he was first given literary personality in the tragic drama El burlador de Sevilla (1630; “The Seducer of Seville,” translated in The Trickster of Seville and the Stone Guest), attributed to the Spanish dramatist Tirso de Molina. Through Tirso’s tragedy, Don Juan became an archetypcal character in the West, as familiar as Don QuixoteHamlet, and Faust. Subsequently, he became the hero-villain of plays, novels, and poems; his legend was assured enduring popularity through Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni (1787), and it would continue to live on, by the 20th century, in movies and other media.

The legend of Don Juan tells how, at the height of his licentious career, he seduced a girl of noble family and killed her father, who had tried to avenge her. Later, seeing a commemorative effigy on the father’s tomb, he flippantly invited it to dine with him, and the stone ghost duly arrived for dinner as a harbinger of Don Juan’s death. In the original Spanish tragedy, Don Juan’s attractive qualities—his vitality, his arrogant courage, and his sense of humour—heighten the dramatic value of the catastrophe. The power of the drama derives from its rapid pace, the impression it gives of cumulative tension as Don Juan’s enemies gradually hound him to destruction, and the awareness that the Don is goaded to defy even the ghostly forces of the unknown. In the end he refuses to repent and is eternally damned.

In the 17th century the Don Juan story became known to strolling Italian players, some of whom traveled to France with this theme in their repertoire of pantomime, and by the 19th century many versions of the Don Juan legend existed. Along with Mozart’s opera, other famous non-Spanish versions are Molière’s play Dom Juan; ou, Le Festin de pierre (first performed 1665; “Don Juan; or, The Stone Feast”), based on earlier French arrangements; and two works dealing with a similar but different Don Juan, Prosper Mérimée’s uncharacteristic short story “Les Âmes du Purgatoire” (1834; “Souls in Purgatory”) and the drama Don Juan de Marana (1836) by Alexandre Dumas père. Early English versions—such as Thomas Shadwell’s The Libertine (1675), for example—are considered uninspired, but the character reappears with a new force in Lord Byron’s long satiric poem Don Juan (1819–24) and in George Bernard Shaw’s drama Man and Superman (1903). Later Spanish versions retain Don Juan’s likable qualities and avoid the calculated cynicism of certain foreign versions.

The highly popular Don Juan Tenorio (1844) of José Zorrilla y Moral, still traditionally performed in Spain at the time of All Saints’ Day (November 1) and All Souls’ Day (November 2), borrowed lavishly from French sources. Zorrilla’s play is said to sentimentalize the legend by furnishing a pious heroine and a serious love interest and by procuring Don Juan’s repentance and salvation.

Theater events can be booked at the theater box office and at https://ticket.kg/event/don_juan
The ticket price is 100-450 soms. The number of seats in the hall is limited.

Other events

Prince Igor

Opera and Ballet Theater

Starts: 30 October 2021 17:00 30-10-2021 17:00
Ends: 30 October 2021 19:00

AWAKENING

Vostok 5, 18/1 https://goo.gl/maps/EviRnMssczJ6cm6H9

Starts: 23 October 2021 09:00 23-10-2021 09:00
Ends: 24 October 2021 18:00

Global Education Fair 2021

16 ave. Manasa, Bishkek https://goo.gl/maps/q2wTLB6LA9Z2ieY37

Starts: 31 October 2021 12:00 31-10-2021 12:00
Ends: 31 October 2021 17:00

Ballet "Cholpon"

Opera and Ballet Theater

Starts: 20 November 2021 17:00 20-11-2021 17:00
Ends: 20 November 2021 19:30

GIK-FESTIVAL JOYFEST 3.0

197 Abdumomunov St, Bishkek https://goo.gl/maps/VAx1pZmYFc8MSjpN6

Starts: 24 October 2021 14:00 24-10-2021 14:00
Ends: 24 October 2021 19:00

Thunderstorm

122 Tynystanov St, Bishkek 720040 https://goo.gl/maps/LahGpq92LcQQJD6J6

Starts: 29 October 2021 18:00 29-10-2021 18:00
Ends: 29 October 2021 20:30

Aida

167 Usup Abdrahmanov St, Bishkek https://goo.gl/maps/HqvCjpr9AqHrARP38

Starts: 27 November 2021 17:00 27-11-2021 17:00
Ends: 27 November 2021 20:30

SOLO CONCERT OF OROZBEK BAKYTOV

167 Usup Abdrahmanov St, Bishkek http://www.operaballet.lg.kg/

Starts: 06 November 2021 17:00 06-11-2021 17:00
Ends: 06 November 2021 19:00

Дон Хуан, вымышленный персонаж, являющийся символом распутства. Происходя из популярной легенды, он впервые получил литературную личность в трагической драме «Эль бурладор де Севилья» (1630; «Соблазнитель Севильи», переведенной в «Севильском обманщике и каменный гость»), приписываемой испанскому драматургу Тирсо де Молина. Благодаря трагедии Тирсо Дон Хуан стал архетипическим персонажем на Западе, столь же знакомым, как Дон Кихот, Гамлет и Фауст. Впоследствии он стал героем-злодеем пьес, романов и стихов; его легенда приобрела непреходящую популярность благодаря опере Моцарта «Дон Жуан» (1787), и она продолжит жить к 20 веку в фильмах и других средствах массовой информации.

Легенда о доне Хуане рассказывает, как на пике своей распутной карьеры он соблазнил девушку из знатной семьи и убил ее отца, который пытался отомстить за нее. Позже, увидев памятное изображение на могиле отца, он легкомысленно пригласил его отобедать с ним, и каменный призрак явился к обеду как предвестник смерти дона Хуана. В оригинальной испанской трагедии привлекательные качества дона Хуана - его жизнеспособность, его высокомерное мужество и его чувство юмора - усиливают драматическое значение катастрофы. Сила драмы проистекает из ее быстрого темпа, впечатления, которое она производит, накапливающегося напряжения, когда враги Дона Хуана постепенно преследуют его до разрушения, и осознания того, что дон побуждает бросить вызов даже призрачным силам неизвестного. В конце концов, он отказывается каяться и оказывается навеки проклятым.

В 17 веке история Дон Жуана стала известна прогуливающимся итальянским игрокам, некоторые из которых путешествовали во Францию ​​с этой темой в своем репертуаре пантомимы, а к 19 веку существовало множество версий легенды о Дон Жуане. Наряду с оперой Моцарта, другими известными неиспанскими версиями являются пьеса Мольера «Дом Жуан»; ou, Le Festin de Pierre (впервые исполнено в 1665 году; «Дон Жуан; или Каменный пир»), основанный на более ранних французских аранжировках; и две работы, посвященные похожему, но разному Дон Жуану, нетипичному рассказу Проспера Мериме «Les Âmes du Purgatoire» (1834; «Души в Чистилище») и драме «Дон Хуан де Марана» (1836) Александра Дюма отца. Ранние английские версии, такие как, например, «Распутник» Томаса Шедвелла (1675), считаются скучными, но персонаж вновь появляется с новой силой в длинной сатирической поэме лорда Байрона «Дон Хуан» (1819–1824 гг.) И в драме Джорджа Бернарда Шоу «Человек и человек». Супермен (1903). Более поздние испанские версии сохраняют приятные качества Дона Хуана и избегают расчетливого цинизма некоторых иностранных версий.

Популярный «Дон Хуан Тенорио» (1844 г.) из «Хосе Соррилья-и-Мораль», который до сих пор традиционно исполняется в Испании во время Дня всех святых (1 ноября) и Дня поминовения усопших (2 ноября), щедро заимствован из французских источников. Говорят, что пьеса Зорриллы сентиментальна для легенды, давая благочестивую героиню и серьезный любовный интерес, а также обеспечивая раскаяние и спасение дона Хуана.

Другие события

Carmen

Начало: 19 Декабрь 2021 17:00 19-12-2021 17:00
Конец: 19 Декабрь 2021 19:00

Начало: 04 Декабрь 2021 19:00 04-12-2021 19:00
Конец: 09 Декабрь 2021 21:00

Ethno-Fest Teskey Jeek 2019

Начало: 15 Июль 2021 09:00 15-07-2021 09:00
Конец: 15 Июль 2022 17:00

Начало: 16 Декабрь 2021 18:30 16-12-2021 18:30
Конец: 16 Январь 2021 20:30

БАЛЕТ ЩЕЛКУНЧИК

Кыргызский театр оперы и балета им А.Малдыбаева

Начало: 30 Декабрь 2021 17:00 30-12-2021 17:00
Конец: 30 Декабрь 2021 19:30